Workshops


  • IMPROVISATION | Bridges to…
    Learn how to improvise in a playful way

  • COMPOSITION | Bridges to…
    Composing the music that’s in your heart

  • STAGE PRESENCE AND STAGE FRIGHT | Bridges to…
    Owning your stage

  • ENSEMBLE PLAYING | Bridges to…
    Connecting with others through music

You can find the current dates in my calendar under DATES


Dates

IMPROVISATION | Bridges to… 


You know your instrument, but you can't improvise? In this workshop we will practice improvising together without fear or worries.

Many musicians are curious about a feeling of freedom when playing. The desire for creativity with such ease is great, but how can you best approach this? Too much freedom while playing can be overwhelming, as can the complexity of music theory on its own.

In the workshop we will discover together approaches to create a playing and practicing style for you with the right balance of play, structure, and knowledge.

You will get the chance to try out and practice many things in the form of creative games. Through this format you will get to know different styles and approaches. We shall improvise to different bass, harmony, and melody models. Furthermore, you will learn rhythmic structures such as tango, bossa, or 7/8 time as a basis for a unique style-based improvisation. Along the way I explain music theory backgrounds and together we transfer these into melodic playful exercises. The idea is to show you what you can already do, how you can build on it, and then incorporate other new skills. At the end you will leave the workshop with your very own individual practice plan. You will learn what is important for your own growth and progress and lastly better understand what you can work on further to strengthen any weaknesses or worries that you may have.

The workshop is open for (almost) all instruments (please enquire). I recommend previous instrumental-knowledge of at least two years, as well as good music reading skills. Music theory basics are not a prerequisite for this course.

Content:

  • Exclusive instructions on improvising in a comfortable and fear-free setting.
  • Discovering creativity and freedom beyond sheet music and music theory
  • Balance of knowledge, playing, and practicing
  • Improvisation exercises on various bass, harmony, and melody models (e.g. quintfall sequence, II-V-I connection, blues scale, chromaticism, etc. … All of which shall be easily and wonderfully explained in our time spent together)
  • Creative games, theoretical inputs, and free improvisation as a stimulus for practicing
  • Stylistic improvisation based on rhythmic structures such as tango, bossa, or 7/8 time, etc.
  • Overcoming personal hurdles and fears that might be holding you back
  • Working out an individual practice plan
  • Lots of inspiration built together while playing
  • Deepening understanding of knowledge and theories
  • A workshop for all skillsets, from the likes of ambitious-amateurs, all the way to the classically trained musicians.
  • Open for (almost) all instruments. Again, please simply email me an inquire with your instrument request.

COMPOSITION | Bridges to… 


You want to write your own piece, but don't know how to go about it? Are you looking for a way to express yourself creatively through music? For many musicians it is unimaginable to compose by themselves, because they compare themselves directly with Mozart, Beethoven and Bach. Also, the idea of having to become an expert in music theory is a big hurdle for many. The point is not to become a second Beethoven, but rather to discover what music lies dormant in oneself and what one can "craft" from it.

In this workshop you will get to know different approaches to your own creativity. Together we will try out and discover the music within us and learn to "hold on to" it. With an easy-to-understand modular system we shall then create our very own first composition together. We use already existing theoretical knowledge, or summarize the most important basics in a way that everyone can understand.

I myself have been expressing myself with various tones for decades and put everything into the music that truly inspires me. I am well aware of the hurdles and challenges in this process and I speak from experience when I claim that it is incredibly worthwhile to embark on this path and adventure. This is what I burn for, and this is the spark I hope to ignite within during my workshops.

The course is aimed at instrumentalists and singers. Previous instrumental experience of at least two years, as well as music reading skills are recommended. Music theory basics do not have to be present beforehand. Your own instruments will be needed for some exercises and games.

Content:

  • Different approaches to own creativity
  • Trying out - discovering - holding on
  • With an easy-to-understand modular system we create our own unique compositions
  • We use already existing theoretical knowledge and/or summarize the most important basics for everyone in the easiest ways possible to comprehend
  • Exciting exercises and games
  • Playful and fun inspiration to further help you inspire your own creations
  • Looking at and overcoming any hurdles and challenges that you may fear
  • A workshop for instrumentalists and singers with at least 2 years of instrumental playing and music reading skills. Knowledge of theory is not necessary - but it does not hurt either.

STAGE PRESENCE AND STAGE FRIGHT | Bridges to… 


Have you ever enjoyed standing on a stage and presenting something? In this workshop I would like to help you develop this skill and gain confidence and joy in presenting, lecturing, and/or performing. It's about learning and practicing strategies that will help you take the stage with enthusiasm and heart. It's about the pleasure of presenting, the enjoyment, as well as the pleasure of performing.

With practical exercises we train techniques that help to better deal with nervousness and stage fright: e.g. relaxation methods, breathing exercises, focus expansion, visualization, recognizing and transforming thought patterns, voice exercises, memory training, ritualized processes, analysis of body language and much more.

Furthermore, in the next step we lead the focus away from fear, towards joy and shaping the presentation. We find out how you can stay focused and with yourself, while at the same time entering into a real dialogue with the audience. We also look at how you can further gain and enjoy confidence and attention through the use of your own body language.

Together we will develop personal training plans and individual key points to be applied beyond the workshop.

Invited are all those who want to enjoy their performance more step by step on stage, at lectures and congresses, in front of the camera, in front of large and small groups, or in the concert hall and are looking for ways to deal with nervousness and performance anxiety.

Content:

  • Relaxation methods
  • Breathing exercises
  • Focus expansion
  • Visualization
  • Recognizing and transforming thought patterns
  • Voice exercises
  • Memory training
  • Ritualized processes
  • Analysis of body language and rhetoric
  • Exercises to stay "with yourself" and get in touch at the same time
  • Through structure and coordination: training to get to the point
  • Developing training plans and core topics
  • Working out strengths, and resolving any weaknesses
  • Video training and analysis

ENSEMBLE Playing | Bridges to… 


Music is one of the most beautiful existing languages! Making music for ourselves alone can be meditative, rewarding, and fulfilling. Experiencing it together with others increases the happiness and the overall pleasures in creating it. My workshop would like to accompany you on this path.

Invited are instrumentalists who simply want to make music with others or are looking for new impulses and motivation for their own joy of playing. The course is open to different instruments, different levels of experience, and age does not matter: old and young, adult or adolescent, learn from and with each other. In the spirit of the Bridges of Music program, in which music functions as a language that makes it possible to communicate with others on a special level, regardless of experience, cultural or ethnic backgrounds, age, gender, instrument or genre. A basic knowledge of music and at least 1 ½  years of instrumental playing is recommended.

Content:

  • Speaking together in unison using the most beautiful of all languages: Music
  • Open to many different instruments
  • Different previous knowledge
  • Be it teenagers just starting or Adults with lots or very little experience. Learn with, from, and by each others own skill levels.
  • New impulses and motivation for furthering your own joy of playing

Quotes from Others


A fantastic workshop, conducted from the beginning competently, creatively, professionally and full of warmth. Thus, Beatrix Becker allowed us participants to grow together with our personalities, the instruments, and the music, until in the end we could performed very well together. These hours were unforgettable, and my fear of improvisation has been completely tamed. What a gift! Thank you very, very much!
Claudia

We confirmed to each other again and again how much we enjoyed the workshop. This was also due to the beautiful ambience, the good food, and simply the fact that we love to pursue our hobby of making music. But it was especially due to you (Beatrix Becker) as a fascinatingly human, empathetic, motivating, inspiring and yet completely humble personality. It is really very special how you prepared and conducted the workshop and developed us "first graders" in the process. Once again, thank you very, very much!

Walter

...And I myself took the momentum back to my church, and I had the best of our worship services together with the violinist!!!! I focused on 'less is more' but did it with confidence and it came out so well! And my improvisational skills worked out far 'more naturally', along with everything else. I shall keep practicing all that you shared with me! You really are a very, very good coach!!!

Iris

Thank you so much for the wonderful seminar! I am still quite fulfilled by the hours spent together full of inspiration, valuable tips, and great joy in making music together.

Cornelia

Thank you again for the great workshop - we are still raving about your good ideas, tips, your encouragement, your music, and the music you were able to elicit from us participants.

Susanne



Newsletter


Don’t miss any news or updates from Beatrix Becker, and be sure to look forwards to a welcome-gift when you join!
Your data will be kept confidential and you can unsubscribe at any time. For more information please see: Privacy.

Workshops


  • IMPROVISATION
    Bridges to… finally improvising without fear
  • KOMPOSITION
    Bridges to… composing the music that’s in your heart
  • BÜHNENPRÄSENZ UND LAMPENFIEBER
    Bridges to… owning your stage
  • ENSEMBLESPIEL
    Bridges to… connecting with others through music

Die aktuellen Termine findest Du in meinem Kalender unter TERMINE


Termine

IMPROVISATION
Bridges to… finally improvising without fear


Du beherrschst dein Instrument, kannst aber nicht improvisieren? Im Workshop üben wir gemeinsam improvisieren ohne Angst.

Viele Musiker*innen sind neugierig auf ein Gefühl der Freiheit beim Spielen. Der Wunsch nach Kreativität und Leichtigkeit ist groß. Doch wie kannst du das am besten angehen? Zu viel Freiheit kann überfordern, Die Komplexität von Musiktheorie ebenfalls.

Im Workshop entdecken wir gemeinsam Ansätze, um mit der für dich richtigen Balance aus Spiel, Struktur und Wissen einen Spiel- und Übungsplan zu erstellen.

Und natürlich bekommst du die Möglichkeit in kreativen Spielen vieles auszuprobieren und zu üben. Du lernst unterschiedliche Stilistiken und Herangehensweisen kennen. Wir improvisieren zu verschiedenen Bass-, Harmonie- und Melodiemodellen. Weiterhin lernst du rhythmische Strukturen wie z.B. Tango, Bossa oder 7/8-Takt als Grundlage für eine stilgebundene Improvisation kennen. Ich erkläre musiktheoretische Hintergründe und gemeinsam übertragen wir diese in konkrete spielerische Übungen. Die Idee ist, dir zu zeigen, was du schon kann, wie du es ausbauen und weitere Fertigkeiten mit einbauen kannst. Am Ende gehst du mit einem individuellen Üb-Plan aus dem Workshop. Du lernst, was für dein Weiterkommen wichtig ist und Freude macht und auch, was du erstmal vernachlässigen kannst.

Der Workshop ist offen für (fast) alle Instrumente. Ich empfehle instrumentale Vorkenntnisse von etwa mindestens zwei Jahren, sowie gute Notenlesekompetenz. Musiktheoretische Grundlagen müssen nicht vorhanden sein.

Sachinhalte:

  • Konkrete Anleitung zum Improvisieren in einem angstfreien Rahmen
  • Kreativität und Freiheit entdecken jenseits von Noten und Musiktheorie
  • Balance aus Wissen, Spielen und Üben
  • Improvisationsübungen zu verschiedenen Bass-, Harmonie- und Melodiemodellen (z.B. Quintfallsequenz, II-V-I-Verbindung, Bluestonleiter, Chromatik u.v.m.)
  • Kreative Spiele und theoretische Inputs und freie Improvisation als Anregung zum Üben
  • Stilgebundene Improvisation mit Grundlage rhythmischer Strukturen wie z.B. Tango, Bossa oder 7/8-Takt u.v.m
  • Überwinden von Hürden und Berührungsängsten
  • Ausarbeiten eines individuellen Üb-Plans
  • Jede Menge Inspiration
  • Vertiefen von Kenntnissen
  • Ein Workshop für ambitionierte Laien und für bisher vor allem klassisch ausgebildete Musiker*innen
  • Offen für (fast) alle Instrumente

KOMPOSITION
Bridges to… composing the music that’s in your heart


Du möchtest ein eigenes Stück schreiben, weißt aber nicht, wie du es angehen kannst? Du suchst eine Möglichkeit dich kreativ mit Musik auszudrücken? Für viele Musiker ist es unvorstellbar selber zu komponieren, da sie sich direkt mit Mozart, Beethoven und Bach vergleichen. Auch die Vorstellung erst ein Experte in Musiktheorie werden zu müssen, ist für viele eine große Hürde. Dabei geht es ja nicht darum ein zweiter Beethoven zu werden, sondern vielmehr zu entdecken, welche Musik in einem selber schlummert und was man daraus „basteln“ kann.

Im Workshop lernst du verschiedene Zugänge zu deiner eigenen Kreativität kennen. Gemeinsam probieren und entdecken wir die Musik in uns und lernen sie „festzuhalten“. Mit einem einfach verständlichen Baukastensystem erstellen wir erste eigene Kompositionen. Dabei nutzen wir bereits vorhandenes Theoriewissen oder fassen die wichtigsten Basics für jeden verständlich zusammen.

Ich selbst drücke mich seit Jahrzehnten in Tönen aus und „verkomponiere“ alles, was mich inspiriert. Die Hürden und Herausforderungen bei diesem Prozess sind mir durchaus bekannt und ich spreche aus Erfahrung, wenn ich behaupte, dass es sich lohnt, diesen Weg zu begehen. Hierfür brenne ich, diesen Funken hoffe ich in meinen Workshops überspringen zu lassen.

Der Kurs richtet sich an Instrumentalist*innen und Sänger*innen. Instrumentale Vorkenntnisse von mindestens zwei Jahren, sowie Notenlesekompetenz sind empfehlenswert. Musiktheoretische Grundlagen müssen nicht vorhanden sein. Die eigenen Instrumente werden für einige Übungen und Spiele benötigt.

Sachinhalte:

  • Verschiedene Zugänge zur eigenen Kreativität
  • Ausprobieren – Entdecken – Festhalten
  • Mit einem einfach verständlichen Baukastensystem erstellen wir erste eigene Kompositionen
  • Wir nutzen bereits vorhandenes Theoriewissen und/oder fassen die wichtigsten Basics für jeden verständlich zusammen
  • Spannende Übungen und Spiele
  • Inspiration zur Inspiration
  • Hürden und Herausforderungen anschauen und meistern
  • Ein Workshop für Instrumentalist*innen und Sänger*innen mit ca. mindestens 2 Jahren Instrumentalspiel und Notenlesekompetenz. Theoriekenntnisse müssen nicht vorhanden sein – schaden aber auch nicht

BÜHNENPRÄSENZ UND LAMPENFIEBER
Bridges to… owning your stage


Hast Du schon einmal voller Genuss und Freude auf einer Bühne gestanden und etwas präsentiert? In diesem Workshop möchte ich Dir dabei helfen diese Fähigkeit zu entwickeln und Souveränität und Freude beim Präsentieren, Vortragen oder Vorführen zu erlangen. Es geht darum, Strategien kennenzulernen und zu erproben, die Dir dabei helfen, die Bühne mit Begeisterung und Herz einzunehmen; es geht um den Genuss zu präsentieren, das Vergnügen und die Lust am Vortrag.

Mit praktischen Übungen trainieren wir Techniken, die dabei helfen, besser mit Nervosität und Lampenfieber umzugehen: z.B. Entspannungsmethoden, Atemübungen, Fokuserweiterung, Visualisierung, Denkmuster erkennen und umwandeln, Stimmübungen, Gedächtnistraining, ritualisierte Abläufe, Analyse von Körpersprache u.v.m.

Ferner leiten wir den Fokus im nächsten Schritt weg von der Angst, hin zur Freude und Gestaltung des Vortrages. Wir finden heraus, wie Du bei Dir bleiben kannst, während Du gleichzeitig in einen echten Dialog mit den Zuhörern trittst. Auch betrachten wir, wie Du rhetorisch und durch Deine Körpersprache Aufmerksamkeit gewinnst und diese genießen kannst.

Gemeinsam entwickeln wir persönliche Trainingspläne und individuelle Kernpunkte, die auch über den Workshop hinaus angewandt werden sollen.

Eingeladen sind alle, die auf der Bühne, bei Vorträgen und Kongressen, vor der Kamera, vor großen und kleinen Gruppen oder im Konzertsaal ihren Auftritt Schritt für Schritt mehr genießen möchten und Umgang mit Nervosität und Auftrittsängsten suchen.

Sachinhalte:

  • Entspannungsmethoden
  • Atemübungen
  • Fokuserweiterung
  • Visualisierung
  • Denkmuster erkennen und umwandeln
  • Stimmübungen
  • Gedächtnistraining
  • Ritualisierte Abläufe
  • Analyse von Körpersprache und Rhetorik
  • Übungen um „bei sich“ zu bleiben und gleichzeitig in Kontakt zu treten
  • Durch Struktur und Koordinierung: Trainieren auf den Punkt zu kommen
  • Entwickeln von Trainingsplänen und Kernthemen
  • Herausarbeiten der Stärken
  • Video-Training und Analyse

ENSEMBLESPIEL
Bridges to… connecting with others through music


Musik ist eine der schönsten Sprachen, die es gibt! Für uns alleine zu musizieren kann meditativ, befriedigend und beglückend sein. Es gemeinsam mit anderen zu erleben, potenziert das Glück und den Genuss. Bei diesem Weg möchte Dich mein Workshop begleiten.

Eingeladen sind Instrumentalist*innen, die einfach Lust haben mit anderen Musik zu machen oder neue Impulse und Motivation für die eigene Spielfreude suchen. Der Kurs ist offen für verschiedene Instrumente, unterschiedliche Vorkenntnisse, und auch das Alter spielt keine Rolle: Alt und Jung, Groß und Klein lernen von- und miteinander, ganz im Sinne der Bridges of Music-Idee, bei der Musik als eine Sprache fungiert, die es ermöglicht mit anderen auf einer besonderen Ebene zu kommunizieren, unabhängig kultureller oder ethnischer Herkunft, Alter, Geschlecht, Instrument oder Genre. Notenkenntnisse und mindestens 1,5 Jahre Instrumentalspiel sind empfehlenswert.

Sachinhalte:

  • Gemeinsam die schönste aller Sprachen sprechen: Musik
  • Offen für viele verschiedene Instrumente
  • Unterschiedliche Vorkenntnisse
  • Alt und Jung, Groß und Klein lernen von- und miteinander
  • Neue Impulse und Motivation für die eigene Spielfreude


Was andere sagen


Ein fantastischer Workshop, von Beginn an kompetent, kreativ, professionell und voller Wärme durchgeführt. Somit ermöglichte Beatrix Becker uns Teilnehmern zusammen zu wachsen mit unseren Persönlichkeiten, den Instrumenten und der Musik, bis wir am Ende durchaus hätten gemeinsam auftreten können. Diese Stunden waren unvergesslich und meine Angst vor der Improvisation ist komplett gebändigt. Was ein Geschenk, vielen, vielen Dank!
Claudia

Wir haben uns immer wieder gegenseitig bestätigt, wieviel Freude uns der Workshop gemacht hat. Das lag auch am schönen Ambiente, dem guten Essen und schlichtweg an der Tatsache, dass wir gerne unserem Hobby Musizieren nachgehen. Aber es lag insbesondere an dir als faszinierend menschliche, einfühlsame, motivierende, inspirierende und dabei völlig bescheidene Persönlichkeit. Das ist schon wirklich ganz besonders, wie du den Workshop vorbereitest und durchführst und dabei uns "Erstklässler" entwickelt hast. Nochmals dafür ganz, ganz herzlichen Dank!
 
Walter

…und ich selbst hab den Schwung mit in die Kirche genommen, und ich hatte mit der Violinistin den besten unserer gemeinsamen Gottesdienste!!! Ich hab mich auf ‚weniger ist mehr‘ konzentriert, das aber mit Selbstbewusstsein gemacht und das kam so gut an! Und auch das Improvisieren klappte ‚selbstverständlicher‘! Und alles andere werde ich üben! Du bist wirklich ein sehr, sehr guter Coach!!!
Iris

Ganz herzlichen Dank für das wunderbare Seminar! Ich bin noch immer ganz erfüllt von den gemeinsamen Stunden voller Inspiration, wertvoller Tipps und großer Freude am gemeinschaftlichen musizieren.
Cornelia

Vielen Dank nochmals für den tollen Workshop – wir schwärmen immer noch von deinen guten Ideen, Tipps, deinem Mutmachen, deiner Musik und der Musik, die du uns Teilnehmern entlocken konntest.
Susanne



Newsletter


Verpasse keine Neuigkeiten, Konzerte und Aktionen von Beatrix Becker und freue Dich auf ein Willkommens-Geschenk! Deine Daten werden vertraulich behandelt und Du kannst Dich jederzeit wieder abmelden. Mehr dazu unter Datenschutz.