BOOK OF BRIDGES



It all began with an empty booklet in the Lockdown: Beatrix Becker filled it with melancholy, joyful compositions for her new programme "BOOK OF BRIDGES". For the first time, the Berlin-based musician gathers all her favourite instruments - bass clarinet and clarinet, violoncello, guitar and piano - on one stage. And takes us on a healing musical hero's journey through the emotional shallows of the pandemic experience and of life itself.

Expressive and imaginative, Becker and her fellow musicians tell of the search for hope and the longing for distance, of joie de vivre and fragility, of the magic of connectedness in times of separateness. Together they make it possible to experience the miracle that happens when music can build bridges: between people and opinions, continents and cultures, between us and our confidence for what is currently still in the unknown.

In doing so, Beatrix Becker once again seeks and finds rich possibilities of expression beyond classical music and jazz. Since early childhood, her musical heart has beaten for exotic sounds and rhythms. She is inspired by the melancholy joie de vivre of klezmer music, the wild temperament of flamenco and the gentle aesthetics of tango argentino. Combined with an irrepressible joy of improvisation, she weaves her own deeply moving sound as a bridge-builder between classical, jazz and world music.

Becker has been shaped by her travels and her varied musical experiences: After two CD recordings and tours as a clarinettist with the band Bassa, she recorded her first solo album in Argentina, the second in Switzerland and the third at the renowned Hansa Studios in Berlin. She officially represented the city of Berlin in Istanbul, Los Angeles and at the official celebration of German Unity Day, thrilled audiences at concerts in London, Paris, Jerusalem and was ennobled by klezmer icon Giora Feidman when he released her composition "Una Sonrisa" on his album "Klezmer Bridges".

Beatrix Becker has now invited two renowned fellow musicians, whose aesthetics and expressiveness were also shaped on the great stages of this world, to the "BOOK OF BRIDGES" concert evening: Violoncellist Rebecca Carrington is not only internationally celebrated but also famous for her versatility. Both women have also shared a bubbling creativity since their first note together. Guitarist Nikos Tsiachris enriches the trio with his Greek roots as well as with his simultaneously powerful and subtle sound diversity, influenced by flamenco and world music.

Together, they present a kind of chamber music that can only be created in the metropolis of Berlin: A rendezvous with impressions and emotions from all over the world, concentrated on an unforgettable evening in an intimate trio setting.

 

Beatrix Becker: composition, bass clarinet, clarinet, piano
Rebecca Carrington: cello
Nikos Tsiachris: guitar, electric guitar

BOOK OF BRIDGES



Begonnen hat alles mit einem leeren Büchlein im Lockdown: Beatrix Becker hat es mit melancholisch lebensfrohen Kompositionen für ihr neues Programm „BOOK OF BRIDGES“ gefüllt. Dafür versammelt die Berlinerin erstmals all ihre Lieblingsinstrumente auf einer Bühne – Bassklarinette und Klarinette, Violoncello, Gitarre und Klavier – und nimmt uns mit auf eine heilsame musikalische Heldenreise durch die emotionalen Untiefen der Pandemieerfahrung und des Lebens selbst.

Ausdrucksstark und fantasievoll erzählen Becker und ihre Mitmusiker von der Suche nach Hoffnung und der Sehnsucht nach der Ferne, von Lebensfreude und Fragilität, von der Magie der Verbundenheit in Zeiten der Getrenntheit. Gemeinsam machen sie das Wunder erlebbar das geschieht, wenn Musik Brücken zu bauen vermag: zwischen Menschen und Meinungen, Kontinenten und Kulturen, zwischen uns und unserer Zuversicht für das, was derzeit noch im Ungewissen liegt.

Dabei sucht und findet Beatrix Becker erneut reichhaltige Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten jenseits von Klassik und Jazz. Seit frühester Kindheit schlägt ihr musikalisches Herz für exotische Klänge und Rhythmen. Inspiriert ist sie unter anderem von der melancholischen Lebensfreude der Klezmermusik, vom wilden Temperament des Flamenco, von der sanften Ästhetik des Tango Argentino. Kombiniert mit unbändiger Improvisationsfreude webt sie als Brückenbauerin zwischen Klassik, Jazz und Weltmusik ihren ganz eigenen, tief berührenden Klang.

Geprägt haben Becker dabei ihre Reisen und vielseitigen musikalischen Erfahrungen: Nach zwei CD-Aufnahmen und Tourneen als Klarinettistin der Band Bassa entstand ihr erstes Soloalbum in Argentinien, das zweite in der Schweiz, das dritte in den renommierten Berliner Hansa Studios. Sie repräsentierte die Stadt Berlin in Istanbul, Los Angeles und bei der offiziellen Feierstunde zum Tag der Deutschen Einheit, begeisterte bei Konzerten in London, Paris, Jerusalem und wurde von Klezmer-Ikone Giora Feidman geadelt, als er ihre Komposition „Una Sonrisa“ auf seinem Album „Klezmer Bridges“ veröffentlichte.

Zwei renommierte Mitmusiker, deren Ästhetik und Ausdrucksstärke ebenfalls auf den großen Bühnen dieser Welt geprägt wurden, hat Beatrix Becker nun zum „BOOK OF BRIDGES“-Konzertabend eingeladen: Violoncellistin Rebecca Carrington ist nicht nur international gefeiert und berühmt für ihre Vielseitigkeit. Beide Frauen verbindet auch eine sprudelnde Kreativität seit dem ersten gemeinsamen Ton. Gitarrist Nikos Tsiachris bereichert das Trio mit griechischen Wurzeln ebenso wie mit seiner zugleich kraftvollen und feinsinnigen, durch Flamenco und Weltmusik geprägten Klangvielfalt.

Gemeinsam präsentieren sie mondiale Kammermusik, die so wohl nur in der Metropole Berlin entstehen kann: ein Rendezvous mit Eindrücken und Emotionen aus der ganzen Welt, konzentriert auf einen unvergesslichen Abend in intimer Trio-Besetzung.

 

Beatrix Becker: Komposition, Bassklarinette, Klarinette, Klavier
Rebecca Carrington: Cello
Nikos Tsiachris: Gitarre, E-Gitarre