Biography


Before her solo career the composer and musician Beatrix Becker studied classical clarinet and piano. As a bandleader and soloist, she then released numerous albums and played concerts in Germany, Europe, Israel and the United States, alongside other greats like Raul Jaurena, Helmut Eisel, and Giora Feidman. Giora Feidman , “The King of Klezmer”, later released a recording of her composition "Una Sonrisa" on his album Klezmer Bridges.

In 2012, Beatrix Becker followed her intuition to Buenos Aires and found the vibrant metropolis to be the perfect inspiration for her first solo album, Melody of Love, which was critically acclaimed as 'a remarkable reflection of our times' (Carsten Dürer, PIANONews).

As an artist in residence, she spent several months in Switzerland in 2013 - her CD Wassermusiken (Water Music) reflects the impressions of untouched-nature then cast as melodies, which established her as a "tone poet" (Tip Berlin) and cemented her reputation as "the Berlin Fräuleinwunder" (Nicole Graner, Süddeutsche Zeitung) in the event scene.

In 2015 she founded the project Bridges of Music. Supported by the German Embassy in New York she then toured from New York to London and then back to Berlin. For VisitBerlin’s 2016 campaign she was invited to Istanbul as the musical representative of Berlin.

In the same year, her new album Phoenix, which was recorded in the Hansastudio in Berlin, was then released.

In 2017 Beatrix Becker gave a concert for the US Embassy honoring Martin Luther King Day. At the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy (ICD) she presented Bridges of Music during the international symposium Cultural Diplomacy in Germany.

Beatrix Becker earned her reputation as "one of Berlin's finest examples of musical talent" (German World Magazine) in Los Angeles in 2018, where she played a concert for the 50th anniversary of the LA-Berlin Sister City.

In 2018 her new album Kintsugi for clarinet and guitar was released in cooperation with the Dresden guitarist Benjamin Doppscher.

In 2019 she led the Bridges of Music series to Lucerne and Potsdam. Here she performed two cooperative concerts with the Lucerne Choir, supported by the city of Potsdam and the Potsdam-Lucerne Sister City.

In the same year she also performed compositions from her Bridges of Music program at the gala dinner "Peaceful Revolution - 30 Years Fall of The Wall" at Berlin's Bodemuseum.

In 2020, she initiated a collaborative video, called “Bridges of Music”, on which 50 musicians worldwide virtually made music together during the Covid-19 conditioned "lockdown" in March 2020.

In addition to being an artist and composer, she works as a lecturer and teaches courses in stage training, ensemble playing, composition, and improvisation. She is currently working on her new album Book of Bridges.

A selection of her compositions has been published by Friedrich Hofmeister Musikverlag and made available since 2017.



Press Citation


“One of Berlin`s finest examples of musical talent” (Petra Schurmann – German World Magazine)

“The trio enchanted the audience with musical magic and conveyed that music can break all boundaries and act as a bridge between people of different cultures.” (Staats-Zeitung)

“In her homeland she is still considered as an insider tip.” (Ronald Klein – tip Berlin)

“The Berlin Fräuleinwunder” (Nicole Graner – Süddeutsche Zeitung)

“Great musical sensibility” (Berliner Morgenpost)

“Fragile yet enormously energetic tone poem” (Zitty)

“What she plays on her instruments indiscriminately and in the same way sensitively sensual, then released and extroverted, she has in her head, in her hands and in her breath. This will be on the clarinet and bass clarinet liveliest, beautiful music” (Karl-Heinz Veit – Thüringer Allgemeine)

“A touching and refreshing work” (Tessiner Zeitung)

“A remarkable expression of our time” (Carsten Dürer – Piano News)

“In the exciting interplay of the musicians, the true spirit of jazz is more noticeable than in even the most “avant-garde” sound experiments of many freelance improvisers.” (Nathan Nörgel – Wasser Prawda)

Biographie


Vor ihrer Solo-Karriere studierte die Komponistin und Musikerin Beatrix Becker klassische Klarinette und Klavier. Als Bandleaderin und Solistin veröffentlichte sie zahlreiche Alben und spielte Konzerte in Deutschland, Europa, Israel und den USA, unter anderem mit Größen wie Raul Jaurena, Helmut Eisel und Giora Feidman, der auf seinem Album Klezmer Bridges eine Einspielung ihrer Komposition „Una Sonrisa“ veröffentlichte.

2012 folgte Beatrix Becker ihrem Bauchgefühl nach Buenos Aires und fand in der lebensfrohen, ein wenig aus der Zeit gefallenen Metropole den idealen Besinnungsort für ihre erste Solo-CD Melody of Love - „ein bemerkenswerter Ausdruck unserer Zeit“ (Carsten Dürer, PIANONews).

Als Artist in Residence verbrachte sie 2013 mehrere Monate in der Schweiz - ihre CD Wassermusiken spiegelt in Klang gegossen die Eindrücke aus der unberührten Natur, etablierte sie als „Tondichterin“ (Tip Berlin) und festigte ihren Ruf als „das Berliner Fräuleinwunder“ (Nicole Graner, Süddeutsche Zeitung) in der Veranstaltungsszene.

2015 gründete Beatrix Becker das Projekt Bridges of Music und unternahm mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Botschaft in New York eine Konzert- und Begegnungsreise von New York über London nach Berlin. Anschließend wurde sie von visitBerlin als musikalische Botschafterin nach Istanbul eingeladen, um dort 2016 im Rahmen der neuen Berlin-Kampagne zu konzertieren. Im selben Jahr erschien ihr im Berliner Hansastudio eingespieltes Album Phoenix.

2017 konzertierte Beatrix Becker anlässlich des Martin Luther King Tages für die US Botschaft. Im Institute For Cultural Diplomacy (ICD) präsentierte sie Bridges of Music während des internationalen Symposiums Cultural Diplomacy in Germany.

Ihren Ruf als "one of Berlin‘s finest examples of musical talent" (German World Magazine) erwarb sich Beatrix Becker 2018 in Los Angeles, wo sie zum 50-jährigen Jubiläum der Städtepartnerschaft LA-Berlin ein Konzert gab.

2018 erschien in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Dresdner Gitarristen Benjamin Doppscher ihr Album für Klarinette und Gitarre: Kintsugi

2019 führte sie die Bridges of Music Reihe nach Luzern und Potsdam. Hier gab sie zwei Kooperationskonzerte mit dem Chor Luzern, unterstützt von der Stadt Potsdam und der Städtepartnerschaft Potsdam-Luzern.

Im selben Jahr durfte sie mit Kompositionen ihres Bridges Of Music Programms zum Gala-Dinner „30 Jahre Mauerfall“ im Berliner Bodemuseum konzertieren.

2020 initiierte sie ein Kooperationsvideo Bridges of Music, auf dem weltweit 50 Musiker*innen während des Covid-19 bedingten „Lockdowns“ im März 2020 virtuell zusammen musizierten.

Neben der Tätigkeit als Künstlerin und Komponistin arbeitet sie als Dozentin und gibt Kurse in Bühnentraining, Ensemblespiel, Komposition und Improvisation. Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem neuen Album Book of Bridges.

Eine Auswahl ihrer Kompositionen erscheint seit 2017 im Friedrich Hofmeister Musikverlag.



Pressezitate


“One of Berlin`s finest examples of musical talent” (Petra Schurmann – German World Magazine)

“Das Trio verzauberte das Publikum mit musikalischer Magie und vermittelte, dass Musik alle Grenzen sprengen und als Brücke zwischen Menschen unterschiedlichster Kulturen wirken kann.” (Staats-Zeitung)

“In ihrer Heimat gilt sie noch immer als Geheimtipp.” (Ronald Klein – tip Berlin)

“Das Berliner Fräuleinwunder” (Nicole Graner – Süddeutsche Zeitung)

“Große musikalische Sensibilität” (Berliner Morgenpost)

“Fragile und trotzdem enorm energetische Tondichtung” (Zitty)

“Was sie auf ihren Instrumenten unterschiedslos und in gleicher Weise einfühlsam sinnlich, dann wieder losgelassen und extrovertiert spielt, hat sie im Kopf, in den Händen und im Atem. Dieser wird auf der Klarinette und Bassklarinette lebendigste, schöne Musik” (Karl-Heinz Veit – Thüringer Allgemeine)

“Ein berührendes und erfrischendes Werk” (Tessiner Zeitung)

“Ein bemerkenswerter Ausdruck unserer Zeit” (Carsten Dürer – Piano News)

“Im spannungsreichen Zusammenspiel der Musikerinnen und Musiker ist der eigentliche Geist des Jazz mehr zu spüren als in noch so “avandgardistisch” daherkommenden Klangexperimenten vieler freier Improvisatoren.” (Nathan Nörgel – Wasser Prawda)